EU elections tracker

EU elections tracker

Elections took place across the European Union from 6 – 9 June 2024. Every five years, European Union citizens elect their representatives as Members of the European Parliament (MEPs). A total of 720 MEPs were elected in June 2024, 15 more compared to the previous elections. The number of MEPs elected from each EU country is agreed before each election and is based on the principle of degressive proportionality, which means each MEP from a larger country represents more people than an MEP from a smaller country.

MEPs sit in political groups based on shared ideals/political affiliation. Broadly speaking, the terms “left” and “right” are used to describe political ideologies, i.e., liberal and conservative views, respectively. This is a broad categorisation and may not always accurately reflect the nuances of each party’s views in all cases. This tracker gives a general overview as to the political ‘direction of travel’ of the electorate within each Member State – whether, based on the MEPs elected, the parties represent more liberal or more conservative views.

Whether MEPs represent parties with liberal or conservative views can have a big impact on workplace laws, e.g., liberal views may favour a pro-employee stance on employment legislation, whereas conservative views could lead to a more pro-business/deregulatory approach being adopted. The values of the MEPs can determine the trajectory of EU workplace legislation.

KEY:  ←  Left Leaning

           ↑   Centre

          →  Right Leaning

See our European election tracker here.

By Lisa Collins, Markus Löscher, Yne Machiels, Nedyalka Novakova*, Ivan Kaliterna*, Eleni Loizidou*, Dominik Brůha*, Maria Nordahl Hansen, Pirkko-Liis Harkmaa*, Severi Nordlund*, Guillaume Desmoulin, Dr. Sabine Vianden, Angeliki Sotiropoulou*, Zoltán Csernus*, Niall Pelly, Elisabetta Rebagliati, Christian Jungers*, Lara Pace*, Eric A.V. van Dam, Mateusz Krajewski*, Filipa Lopes Galvão, Corina Radu*, Tomas Rybar*, Manja Hubman*, Victoria Villanueva Gimeno, and Vilma Hansson* on July 3, 2024.
** Nedyalka Novakova is a Senior Associate with Boyanov & Co. (Bulgaria); Ivan Kaliterna is an Associate with Mucalo Law (Croatia); Eleni Loizidou is a Partner with George Z. Georgiou & Associates LLC (Cyprus); Dominik Brůha is a Partner with the Dominik Brůha law office (Czechia); Pirkko-Liis Harkmaa is Counsel with Sorainen (Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania); Severi Nordlund is an Associate with Dottir Atorneys Ltd (Finland); Angeliki Sotiropoulou is an Associate with KG Law Firm (Greece); Zoltán Csernus is an Attorney with VJT Partners (Hungary); Christian Jungers is a Partner with Kleyr Grasso (Luxembourg); Lara Pace is a Senior Associate with Ganado Advocates (Malta); Mateusz Krajewski is a Lawyer with PCS Paruch Chruściel Schiffter Stępień Kanclerz | Littler (Poland);  Corina Radu is a Partner with Magda Volonciu şi Asociaţii (Romania); Tomas Rybar is a Partner with Cechova & Partners (Slovakia); Manja Hubman is an Attorney with Schönherr Attorneys-at-Law (Slovenia); Vilma Hansson is an Associate with Törngren Magnell & Partners Advokatfirma KB (Sweden)